Test-Dose



Test-Dose

I was only ten
on my way to write the little-scholar test,
in a dirty public bus
(my first little adventure)
when I became a woman.

Suddenly,
like a popping cork,
it came and sat on me,
my sex.
Only that
there was no rising fizz
inside
other than the gnawing pain
from his grimy hand
that still rushes in
smell of steel-bars

sweating with peeling paint
and cheap beedi-breath.

I remember looking up clueless
into his eyes,
glassy eyes minus a face
and to this day
wonder what those eyes saw in return
a stupid girl, with a stupid ponytail
and a stupider smile?

I like to think
I didn’t clear that test
because of
my popped open womanhood,
hacked open like wares at a street-vendor’s,
little slices of water-melons or mangoes
they give to show you
how cost-effective and juicy they are,

heady coloured succulent flesh peeping from within,enticing.
May be, the real reason is I am stupid,
just as mom told me later.
And as I said before
I was only ten
on my way to write the little-scholar test.


14 Responses to “Test-Dose”


  1. 1 raj ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 21, 2010 -ല്‍ 8:04 pm

    Really ‘Test Dose’ is a ‘tested’ dose. Good one…Keep writing…

  2. 4 അന്യന്‍ ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 23, 2010 -ല്‍ 6:14 pm

    I went back to my old days…. then I compared with my present days… am I lost or am a stupid? answer me… Thank you for your nice poem…

  3. 5 P.M.Ali ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 23, 2010 -ല്‍ 8:04 pm

    Suddenly,
    like a popping cork,
    it came and sat on me,
    my sex.
    Only that
    there was no rising fizz
    inside
    other than the gnawing pain
    from his grimy hand
    that still rushes in
    smell of steel-bars

    sweating with peeling paint
    and cheap beedi-breath.

    Very powerful and thought provoking lines.
    All the best

  4. 7 mujeeb ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 28, 2010 -ല്‍ 8:18 am

    I like to think
    I didn’t clear that test
    because of
    my popped open womanhood,

    ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    excellent priyaa

  5. 8 savithri ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 28, 2010 -ല്‍ 10:09 am

    ഞാന്‍ ഇത് ഇഷ്ടപ്പെട്ടു എന്ന് പറയാന്‍ വിട്ടു പോയി എന്നോ 🙂
    സബിത സച്ചി യുടെ മലയാളത്തിലുള്ള ഒരു കവിതയും എനിക്ക് ഇതുപോലെ ഒരു അനുഭവം തന്നു.( കവിതയുടെ പേര് മറന്നു )

  6. 11 murali ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 28, 2010 -ല്‍ 6:17 pm

    in line with the pain of the dented soul………..n the experience n the long struggle to get over with it…..n the proper burial assisted by lucifer………..no pain..nor happiness…just the knowledge of ”shit happens………”

  7. 13 anitha ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 31, 2010 -ല്‍ 5:03 am

    The bus as a rite of passage…so true…liked those images.Keep on at it Priya!!


  1. 1 ഉള്ളടക്കം « ട്രാക്ക്‍ബാക്ക് on ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 21, 2010 -ല്‍ 3:50 pm

ഒരു മറുപടി കൊടുക്കുക

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )





