…and I wed

p

o

e

m

Lakshmi Priya

Saw him one Sunday noon
Sandwiched in-between mom and dad.
And uncles marching by.

I was glued in my room
Staring at my window sill

Mirror…mirror…
How shall I wear my shawl?
On one side or on both?

Saree had been long dismissed
six metered Indian bandage
What if I trip and they find me lame?

Waited outside for roll call
Pending verdict…

It seemed they forgot me in between global warming and market rate

Later
I sigh a smile
A damn new brand.

Half a dozen head nods filled the room
Was it me or the roasted groundnuts?
They approved of!
Or was it the cold coffee?

Potted destiny.

Am I to wed all these nodding heads?

Who is father?
Who is son?
Who is uncle?
Who is neighbor?

Why should you care?
Do you have a choice?

I was searching the night sky for a love fly
When it was sealed and squeezed in to my wallet

“U can love him”
They proclaimed!
What luck!
A love out of nowhere!
fresh new currency

Am saved!!

And I loved… I guess…
I don’t remember…

4 Responses to “…and I wed”


  1. 1 Jayan Kaipra ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 7, 2010 -ല്‍ 6:53 am

    എന്നാണ് പെണ്‍കുട്ടികള്‍ ഈ ചോദ്യങ്ങളില്‍ നിന്നും ആശങ്കകളില്‍ നിന്നുമൊക്കെ പുറത്തു വരാന്‍ തന്റേടം കാണിച്ചുതുടങ്ങുക? വളരെ അപൂര്‍വമായി ചിലരുന്ടെങ്കിലും…

  2. 2 satheesan puthumana ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 8, 2010 -ല്‍ 4:49 am

    അത്തരം ചോദ്യങ്ങളില്‍ നിന്നും ഭയങ്ങളില്‍ നിന്നും ആശങ്കകളില്‍ നിന്നും പുറത്ത് വന്നതുകൊണ്ടാണ് ഒരു പെണ്‍കുട്ടിക്ക് ഇങ്ങനെ എഴുതാന്‍ കഴിയുന്നത്‌-നല്ല കവിത,ലക്ഷ്മിപ്രിയ

  3. 3 PlLATHIKA ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 8, 2010 -ല്‍ 12:13 pm

    i remember this one. love it. nice one lakshmi priya

  4. 4 KUNJUBI ഒക്ടോബര്‍ 8, 2010 -ല്‍ 4:20 pm

    This articulation is superficial. Unless you have the guts to say it openly and resist there is no point in condescending to what the eleders decide. It is a cause for shame. Join Women’s LIB


ഒരു മറുപടി കൊടുക്കുക

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )





